Shop for herbs and other supplements on Amazon

WHAT??

could you guys check this out and please tell me its total BS.
i was just about to go and buy saw palmetto and then i see this commercial.
I hope this thread would be dedicated to posting links that preset BS like the one bellow.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBWqu8qRunI

My understanding is that Saw Palmetto interferes with an enzyme called "alpha-5 reductase" which permits testosterone to do its work. Regardless of whether testosterone goes up or down if it cannot work then it does not matter how much of it is floating around you.

I think that that part of the video is b*lls because treatment for prostate conditions usually concentrates on lowering testosterone and SP seems to be an effective treatment so I would exact SP to lower the levels, not increase them.

I'm new to all this, but I've been doing a lot of reading and I'll admit that I probably don't have it all straight yet.

Beverley

I agree with beverly. My understanding of SP is that it has the effect of lowering the effects of testosterone generally throughout the body, but specifically in prostate tissue. I think what they are saying is factually correct but doesn't go far enough in explaining why some of the reported effects are important, since one of the hallmarks of medical treatment for benign prostate hyperplasia (BPH or enlarged prostate) and prostate cancer is reducing the effects of testosterone. Apparently whether you reduce the absolute levels of testosterone in the blood (by taking estrogen as some men with prostate cancer do) or you inhibit the conversion of testosterone into dihydrotestosterone (DHT), it has a beneficial effect on prostate hyperplasia.

Here is a link that describes SP in more clinical detail than most people want to know: http://www.drugs.com/npp/saw-palmetto.html