Shop for herbs and other supplements on Amazon

How estrogenic is PM in comparison to E2?

E2 (17β-estradiol) is one of the most potent sex hormones and it is the most potent estrogen: being 10-times as potent as E1 (estrone) and 80-times as potent as E3 (estroil). It is also the form of estrogen used by many during their male-to-female transition.

But how does PM's estrogen-like potency measure up to the estrogenic potency of E2? This is a question that I've been thinking of lately (for various reasons). After reading more than a few articles, studies, and the like, I've found a few things that I want to crowd-source. I'm not advocating anything, just putting out some things I found and I'm not a medical doctor so I may be wrong about my understandings and, most importantly, I'm not responsible for any decisions that you may make.

To begin, the most estrogenic component of the PM is miroestrol which closely mimics the properties of estrogen. A 100mg PM dose contains approximately 0.02mg miroestrol so a standard 500mg PM dose contains 0.1mg miroestrol. Furthermore, miroestrol is reported to be only a quarter as potent as E2. Given all this, how many mg's of PM are needed to be on estrogenic par with 1mg of E2?

(If I screw up any of the conversions, I'm sorry and please correct me.)

1mg E2 = 4mg Miroestrol

If 0.1mg miroestrol = 500mg PM,
1mg miroestrol = 5000mg PM

20,000mg PM = 1mg E2

Therefore, 40 PM tablets are equal to 1mg E2.

Considering most transitioning male-to-females take about 2mg - 4mg of E2 per day, that would translate to 80PM - 160 PM tablets per day to have roughly the same estrogenic potency. (DO NOT TAKE 80PM - 160 PM tablets per day or any quantity that technically exceeds the amount proscribed by Ainterol or any PM provider.)