Shop for herbs and other supplements on Amazon

Employment

For those of us who are trans and are at any point in transitioning, what did you decide to do in terms of your employment. Did you come out at work, and stay and transition at your work. Did you decide to leave you job once you could not hide that you were transitioning any further, and then got a new job and from the get go you ensured that they new employer understood you were trans. 

Did any of you had to change industries. Like for instance I am a auto mechanic, I feel once I transition that I'd most likely have to go to a different dealership and start fresh, or change industries all together and get into a industry/job that is more trans friendly.

Please share your story and advice if you're ok to. Id like to hear everyone thoughts and suggestions. 

I know there are laws that protect people from discrimination and retaliation and harassment but I feel it only goes so far in the real world especially in some industries. I would love to think that I'd be able to transition at my current employer and everything would be okay. That the group of people who have known me for two and a half or even more years as a man would accept me all of a sudden as a woman. Realistically I don't see that happening. Obviously if they want to keep their jobs they would be polite and nice but I know things would definitely be different granted I wouldn't be one of the guys anymore because I wouldn't be a guy anymore but that camaraderie ship and playfulness in the shop would most definitely not be there anymore. I feel people would change around me and act differently almost as if I was or had the plague.